Graduate Students

Dylan Beatty
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Reece Jones
Office: Saunders Hall 420
Office phone: (856) 693-0835
Email: beattyd@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Political geography, historical geography and historiography. Sacred geographies vis-à-vis colonialism and resistance in the Pacific and Samoa. Maritime disputes in Southeast Asia and the Philippines.

Jennifer Bernstein
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Brian Szuster
Office:
Office phone:
Email: jbern@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Social construction of nature, environmental attitudes and values, American environmentalism, human-wildlife relations

Vin Conti
Degree Program: Ph. D.
Advisor: Hong Jiang
Office: Saunders Hall 410
Office phone:
Email: vinconti@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Social Science of renewable energy on Maui

Chelsea Dau
Degree Program: M.A.
Advisor: Matthew McGranaghan
Office:
Office phone:
Email: dau@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: My research will be focusing on Applied GIS & Geopolitics regarding the U.S. - Mexico border. I also have professional and personal interest in land use, particularly in Hawaii and the Pacific.

Md Azmeary Ferdoush
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Reece Jones
Office: Saunders Hall 410
Office phone:
Email: ferdoush@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Borders and Enclaves with special interest in Bangladesh and India, Political Geography, Citizenship, Territory, State, and Sovereignty.

Micah R. Fisher
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Krisnawati Suryanata
Office: Saunders Hall 420
Office phone: (808) 956-2459
Email: micahrf@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Environmental and Land-Use Change, Climate Change Adaptation, Conflict Resolution, and Decision Making Processes

Abby G. Frazier
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Thomas Giambelluca
Office: Saunders Hall 418
Office Phone:
Email: abbyf@hawaii.edu
Website: https://sites.google.com/a/hawaii.edu/abby_frazier/
Research Interests: Climatology, GIS, geostatistics, landscape ecology, climate variability: ENSO & PDO, rainfall in Hawai‘i.

Brandon Michael Genco
Degree Program: M.A.
Advisor: Camilo Mora
Office: Saunders Hall 425
Office Phone:
Email: bmgenco@hawaii.edu
Website: http://www2.hawaii.edu/~bmgenco/
Research Interests: Large scale patterns of ecology and evolution in the context of future planetary dynamics.

Rollan C. Geronimo
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Camilo Mora
Office: Saunders Hall 411
Office Phone: 956-7042
Email: rollan@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Ecosystem approaches to fisheries management; climate and ocean change impacts on marine ecosystems and resources; integrated socio-ecological systems and decision-support tools for management.

Aurora Kagawa-Viviani
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Tom Giambelluca
Office: Saunders Hall 432
Office Phone: (808) 956-3516
e-mail: kagawa@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Ecology, watershed hydrology, ecohydrology, indigenous agricultural systems, climate change, natural resource management, science education, community-based participatory research

Kyle Kajihiro
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Reece Jones
Office: Saunders Hall 411
Office phone: 808-956-7042
Email: kkajihir@hawaii.edu
Research interests: Political geography. Political Ecology. Indigenous Geographies. Feminist Geopolitics. Environmental justice. Geographies of U.S. militarization and imperial formation in Hawaiʻi, Oceania and Asia. Global justice and decolonization movements.

Xiaofeng Kang
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Krisnawati Suryanata
Office: Saunders Hall 406
Office Phone:
e-mail:xk@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Political Ecology, Development and Environment; China; Southeast Asia

Kerrie Littlejohn
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Brian Szuster
Office: Saunders Hall 411
Office Phone:(808) 956-7042
e-mail: klittlej@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Ecotourism, environmental attitudes and values, education, sustainable development, and behavioral geography

Olivia Marohnic
Degree Program: M.A.
Advisor: Dave Beilman
Office: Saunders Hall 404
Office Phone:
e-mail: marohnic@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Wetland ecosystems in Hawaii and their responses to past and future changes in climate.

Marie McKenzie
Degree Program: M.A.
Advisor: Thomas Giambelluca
Office: Saunders Hall 421
Office Phone:
e-mail: mariemm@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Developing a climate network for Mauna Kea.

Kathryn Metzker
Degree Program: M.A.
Advisor: Alison Rieser
Office: Saunders Hall 425
Office Phone: 484-883-6595
e-mail: Metzker.kathryn@gmail.com
Research Interests: Agroecology, sustainability, political ecology, community development, modern slavery, survivor rehabilitation

Nicole Milne
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Krisna Suryanata
Office: In the field, fall 2009 - fall 2010
Office Phone: (206) 718-0078
e-mail: nmilne@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: agricultural/rural geography, political economy of natural resources, culture and environment, environmental and social history

Ryan Mudd
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Thomas Giambelluca
Office: Saunders Hall 424
Office Phone:
e-mail: rmudd@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Ecohydrology, carbon cycle science, climate change

Heidi Needham
Degree Program: M.A.
Advisor: Thomas Giambelluca
Office: Saunders Hall 418
Office Phone:
e-mail: hneedham@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Ecological climatology, climate change, natural resource management, science education and outreach among underrepresented groups.

Robert C. O'Conner
Degree program: M.A.
Advisor: Matthew McGranaghan
Office: PSB 312B
Office Phone: (808) 956-3694
Email: roconner@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: benthic habitat mapping, bathymetry data, fishery regulatory boundaries, GPS technology, marine protected area delineations, and ocean remote sensing.

Julius Paulo
Degree Program: M.A.
Advisor: Ev Wingert
Office: PSB 313 A
Office Phone:
e-mail: paulojul@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Field Mapping, GIS, Cartography, Remote Sensing, Philippines.

Li Philips
Degree Program: M.A.
Advisor: Dr. Brian Szuster
Office: Saunders Hall 432
Office Phone:
e-mail: lphilips@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Tourism, sustainable development, integrated coastal management, Southeast Asia

Donovan C. Preza
Degree program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Ev Wingert
Office: PSB 313B
Office phone: (808) 956-8463
Email: preza@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Cultural Geography, Cartography, Historical Geography, Hawai‘i, Hawaiian Land Tenure, Political Geography, History of Cartography, the Hawaiian State and Territoriality.

Farrah Powell
Degree program: M.A.
Advisor: Camilo Mora
Office: Saunders Hall 420
Office phone:
Email: fpowell@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Ecological niche modelling; responses of coral reefs to climate change

Sayaka Sakuma
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Mary Mostafanezhad
Office: Saunders Hall 432
Office Phone:
e-mail: ss26@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Tourism, World Heritage, Militarization, Conservation, State, Okinawa

Ben Schrager
Degree Program: PhD.
Advisor: Krisna Suryanata
Office: Saunders Hall 411
Office Phone:
e-mail: schrager@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: agriculture and Japan. Secondary interests: identity, technology and soccer

Alessandra Shea
Degree Program: M.A.
Advisor: Camilo Mora

Office:
Office Phone:
e-mail: agshea@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Anthropogenic effects on coral reefs. Coral reef conservation. Coral disease causes in relation to climate change and coastal development. Meta-analysis of coral reef health globally. Coral reef ecosystem management policy.

Yuko Stender
Degree Program:  Ph.D.
Advisor: Ross Sutherland
Office: PSB 312B
Office Phone: 808-956-3694
E-mail: ystender@hawaii.edu
Personal Web Page: www.marinelifephotography.com
Research Interests: Dynamics of coral reef community assemblages in human-impacted seascapes, understanding coral reef recovery processes from land-based pollution and sedimentation, patterns and processes of coastal sediment quality, landscape/seascape ecology, environmental geography, biogeography, spatial statistics, GIS.

David Strauch
Degree Program: M.A.
Advisor: Lyndon Wester
Office: PSB 313 B
Office Phone:
e-mail: strauch@hawaii.edu
Personal Web Page: www2.hawaii.edu/~strauch/
Research Interests: cultural biogeography of foodplants, ethnobotany of markets, discourses of place, cartography, film Mexico, Oceania

Talha Rafiq
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Qi Chen
Office: Saunders Hall 406
Office Phone:
e-mail: talhar@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Remote Sensing, UAV RS, GIS, geospatial science

Mary Tardona
Degree Program: M.A.
Advisor: Dave Beilman
Office: Saunders Hall 404
Office Phone:
e-mail: tardona@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Ecosystem response to environmental change, antarctic ecosystems, biogeochemical cycles, carbon.

Han Tseng
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Tom Giambelluca
Office: Saunders Hall 432
Office Phone: 808-479-0160
e-mail: tsenghan@hawaii.edu
Website: https://sites.google.com/a/hawaii.edu/tsenghan/
Research Interests: Ecohydrology, forest environment and ecology, tropical montane cloud forests, climate change and land cover change

Emily Wright
Degree Program: M.A.
Advisor: Krisna Suryanata
Office: Saunders 432
Office Phone: 808-956-3516
e-mail: ecwright@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Fisheries and aquaculture, climate change, political ecology, discourse theory, participatory mapping

Tim Workman
Degree Program: MA
Advisor: Krisna Suryanata
Office: Saunders Hall 411
e-mail: workmant@hawaii.edu
Central America; Indonesia; Indigenous Peoples Law and Policy; Environmental Conflict Resolution; Peasantries

Yuanzheng Xiao
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Qi Chen
Office: Saunders Hall 425
e-mail: xiaoyuan@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: LiDAR Remote Sensing

Qian Zhang
Degree Program: Ph.D
Advisor: Qi Chen
Office: Saunders Hall 444
e-mail: qzhang7@hawaii.edu
:Remote Sensing, Climate Change